Works of Mercy

The seven corporal works of mercy:

1. Feed the hungry.
2. Give drink to the thirsty.
3. Clothe the naked.
4. Shelter the homeless.
5. Visit the sick.
6. Visit the imprisoned.
7. Bury the dead.

The seven spiritual works of mercy:

1. Counsel the doubtful.
2. Instruct the ignorant.
3. Admonish sinners.
4. Comfort the afflicted.
5. Forgive offenses.
6. Bear wrongs patiently.
7. Pray for the living and the dead.

In the Spanish version of the Compendium, they’re ordered differently:


1. Visitar y cuidar a los enfermos.
2. Dar de comer al hambriento.
3. Dar de beber al sediento.
4. Dar posada al peregrino.
5. Vestir al desnudo.
6. Redimir al cautivo.
7. Enterrar a los muertos.


1. Enseñar al que no sabe.
2. Dar buen consejo al que lo necesita.
3. Corregir al que yerra.
4. Perdonar las injurias.
5. Consolar al triste.
6. Sufrir con paciencia los defectos de los demás.
7. Rogar a Dios por vivos y difuntos.

In a recent address the the Cursillo movement, Pope Francis commended to them a focus on the works of mercy:

This entry was posted in Church. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s